How God Shows Himself In The Smallest of Ways

Dog Standing In The Rain

I’ve always wanted to be a writer since I was a little girl. I kept a diary throughout my school days, and each night before I went to sleep, I’d write.

One particular day changed my life . . . the day God found me . . .

I was around twelve years old when my best friend in the whole wide world mysteriously disappeared. She wasn’t your normal run-of-the-mill friend, she was a mutt. She was my dog and she was smart.  She was close to being human (to me anyway), and she was my very best friend while I was growing up.

One of the greatest memories I have of her (her name was Susie), was that she knew exactly where the boundaries of our yard were, and never once, not even once, did she cross those boundaries. She’d go to the very edge, but never, ever did her paw step into the road even if she saw a gopher.

Well, after letting her out one day (we never had to worry about her running away), I was in my room, and I noticed that she’d been out longer than normal for her. So, I went outside to investigate. I called her name several times, but she was nowhere in sight. I walked around the house, but she was nowhere to be found.

Now, I started worrying. After an exhaustive search, I ran to my room, tears streaming down my face, and thinking she was gone forever. I lay on my bed, and I began to pray. I prayed so hard that God would somehow make her miraculously reappear so I could have my best friend back.

Several minutes of prayer passed, pouring my heart out to God, when I got up, walked into our living room, and looked out our big picture window. There, in our front yard, I saw my little best friend sniffing the grass as if nothing had happened! I didn’t know where she had been, but I was overwhelmed with relief that she was back. I was so overwhelmed that God had heard my desperate pleas for His help that I thought He had somehow, miraculously, made her reappear from thin air. After all these years, I believe that it was God who guided her back to our yard.

That day, God had answered the prayers of a little girl who loved her dog. Though I will never really be certain what happened to my little Susie that day, or how God intervened, I do know that God, in His infinite love and grace, reached down to help a little girl whose heart was so broken at the loss of her best friend that I was unable to bear the consequences of her loss. I realized that day, that God was real, and that He loved and cared for that little girl who loved and cared for her little best friend.

This was when my faith in God was established.

About Debbie Erickson

I'm a children's author. I believe all children need encouragement. I want them to discover their passion and follow their heart's desire. God is the wind beneath my wings, and Jesus is the Rock of my salvation.
This entry was posted in Book Information and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

