Why Doesn’t My Life Matter, Mom?

Hmmm . . . sure looks like a human being to me.

Courtesy Flickr drsuparna

Courtesy of drsuparna on Flickr

 

 

 

 

 

A Story . . .

Mommy, I heard you say that your best friend just had a baby girl. I can’t wait to meet her! We can have so much fun together! Did you tell Daddy about me yet? I bet he’ll be so happy to hear the news!

Mommy, even though I’m only twelve-weeks-old, I can still sense things. I can especially sense when something’s wrong. And I sense that something’s wrong, Mommy. I heard you tell Amanda that you were troubled, and that you didn’t know what to do, and how mixed up your life seems to be. I’m worried about you, Mommy. You told her that your pregnancy couldn’t have come at a worst possible time. I’m your pregnancy! Why is it such a bad time to have me?

If you can just hold on. Don’t do anything until I arrive. Then everything will be perfect. I can’t wait to see your face, Mommy, or squeeze your finger. I’ll smile at you when you’re giving me a bath. And I really can’t wait ’til you kiss my face all over and snuggle my neck with your nose!

You can’t wait for those things either, right Mommy? What could bring bring a mommy more joy than having a baby? I think you’ll be the best Mom EVER! And I’ll try so hard to be the best daughter ever. I’m going to rest now, Mom. Talk soon.

***

     “Miss Stockton, please, have a seat on that table. How far along do you think you are?”

     “About twelve weeks, I think.”

     Does the baby’s father or your family know you’re here?”

     Silence.

     “Oh, that’s not important. Are you familiar with the procedure?”

“Not really, I guess.”

“Okay, well, read this, sign at the bottom, and then lie back. Doctor will be in shortly and can explain the procedure.”

     ***

 Mommy, why are you quivering? Is this our monthly checkup? I know the doctor will tell us that everything is going to be great.

 ***

     “Hello,” said the deep voice as the door clicked shut. “Just relax. This won’t take long.” The pain will only last a brief time.”

     “But–“

     “You’ll be up and around in no time.”

     Mommy, why does it feel like I’m being sucked out of your womb? Ouch! That hurst! Mom, what’s going on?”

     “Almost . . .”

     “Mommy, are you getting rid of me? You might just need me someday. Mom, please, I promise I’ll be the best daughter ever! Mom, you have to talk to someone. Get help! Don’t let them do this to me…to us! You’ll feel so empty inside, Mom. The pain and sorrow will never go away no matter what anyone has told you. Ouch! And you know why, Mom? Because the bond between a mother and her child is so strong that NO ONE can sever it! I’ve been created by God, just like you. I know He’s speaking to your heart right now, I just know it. He’s the One who places truth in our hearts. Can you hear Him, Mommy?”

     Ouch! I want to live, Mom. Why do I deserve to die? Don’t I deserve a chance at life like you? I bet I could make a difference in the world. Mom, I’m begging you, please, take me home.”

***

Evening

     “Ted, I . . . I have something to tell you. Sit down, please. I almost did something today, something horrible . . . but . . . I decided against it. I kept hearing a voice speaking to my heart. It told me not to do it.”

     “What were you going to do?”

     “That’s not important. What’s important is that, we’re going to have a baby.”

     Oh, Mom, thank you! I love you so much . . . I can’t wait to see you and dad! I’ll show you, I’ll be the best daughter EVER!

Curtousy: Pixabay

Curtousy: Pixabay

©Debbie Erickson

About Debbie Erickson

I'm a children's author. I believe all children need encouragement. I want them to discover their passion and follow their heart's desire. God is the wind beneath my wings, and Jesus is the Rock of my salvation.
This entry was posted in Book Information and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

