“The Substance Of Things Hoped For…”

nativity-447767_1280

It’s getting close to that time a year…Christmas; angels singing, bright lights glowing, and stars shining, all to remind us of the birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

I’d like to talk about something that’s difficult for some, and easier for others, and that is, to have faith to believe in Jesus.

The difference between those who accept Jesus Christ as their personal Savior, and those who do not is summed up in one tiny word but has the strength of a lion, and that is faith. Those who choose to walk by faith and not by sight have the key to God’s heart and the key to salvation. It is my prayer and my desire that many more would learn to step out on faith and trust in our Lord for their salvation.

For some, finding faith in troubled times is difficult, but it is still available to all. When we can’t see the road ahead, it’s hard to keep going. Do we stay on the well-lit path, the path that most seem to travel nowadays, or do we step out in faith and go down a road less traveled? Or, do we keep going or turn back? It’s hard to know. And it’s hard to trust in someone other than ourselves, whether it is God, or a loved one. But each time we step out in faith and walk down that shadowy road, the road becomes a little easier to bare.

What is faith?  “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” ~Hebrews 11:1.

In Romans 8:24, “For we are saved by hope: but hope that is seen is not hope: for what a man sees, why doth he yet hope for?”

Once we can see something and/or touch something, than we no longer need to hope for it. Therefore, faith becomes evident when there is something to hope for; something to look forward to and wait for. And it is possible to believe in something even though we can’t see it.

centaurus-a-11190_1280

Proverbs 13:12 says, “Hope deferred maketh the heart sick: but when the desire cometh [hope], it is a tree of life. I had lost hope many years ago when I was facing some really troubled times. I had lost my desire to function and the dark cloud of depression overcame me, causing me physical illness. I felt as if I was dangling by a thread in the dark universe, yet I knew God was holding on to the other end, which helped me to not give up. Thankfully, I was able to overcome those trials and hope was restored because I knew that God was my only hope. If anyone could help me it would be Him for sure. David, who was a shepherd and a contributing author of Psalms, was known for being a “man after God’s own heart.” I wanted to know how and why this could be when, after all, he had done some pretty bad things. But David loved God, and God knew it. I read the book of Psalms a lot during those dark days, especially Chapters 86 and 102 because they helped restore my hope. God’s mercy flows throughout the book of Psalms.

But how can we receive faith when it’s hard to sometimes believe in things we can’t see? One way is this: “Faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the Word of God.”  ~Romans 10:17

bible-873315_1920

Day by day, as we allow God’s Word to pour into our hearts, our faith grows and becomes stronger. Faith has the power to move our mountains of troubled times, and give us strength to face our daily trials.

Seek faith, and you will find it. When you find it, hold tight to it.

~blessings to you

 

 

 

 

About Debbie Erickson

I'm a children's author. I believe all children need encouragement. I want them to discover their passion and follow their heart's desire. God is the wind beneath my wings, and Jesus is the Rock of my salvation.
This entry was posted in Book Information and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

