What Is Your Passion? Your Purpose?

*Revised & Condensed (First Published December 12, 2016 on candidlychristian.com)

Many years ago, I struggled with depression. It wasn’t your normal, everyday kind of depression that comes one day and is gone the next. It was pretty severe and lasted for several months. It affected me emotionally and physically. It stole my appetite and strength, but most of all, my joy. Life wasn’t fun. My faith told me God was there beside me, but I couldn’t feel His presence.

Depression is a symptom of hopelessness.

I had lost hope until one day a dear friend gave me a book titled, “The Wall: A Parable” by Gloria Jay Evans. To my amazement, the story reminded me of my situation. I, too, had built a wall around me so high and so thick that no one could penetrate it. No one could get in, and I didn’t want to get out. That wall was my safety zone; no one would hurt me again. Perfect. Right?

Wrong. The wall I had built became cold, dark, and lonely. I had become its prisoner, paralyzed with fear, and I wondered what I was really good for or good at.

Without purpose it’s easy to lose hope.

That simple book that my friend had given me had child-like illustrations that had captured a snapshot of  my life at that time. But with God’s strength, I eventually was able to tear down the wall and step out into the world once again even though I knew I’d be vulnerable again, but better to be vulnerable than to be trapped inside a dark, lonely place. I also realized how important it was (is) to exercise, eat healthy, and find someone you can confide in.

Which brings me to the present.

I believe everyone is born for a purpose. I don’t think we’re born, we live, and then die without a purpose. If this were true, then life would be pretty meaningless, and we’d be insignificant beings walking blindly into an unknown future without much hope. Finding purpose in my life opened up a door, and I believe it can help you to open your own door.

Great News! Are you ready for a new chapter in your own life?

“Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead.” ~Philippians 3:13

I want you to discover your passion and purpose in life. Step out and pursue your goals and dreams and use them for God’s glory. I think it’s great news that we’re not just here taking up space; we’re here for a reason. We’re here on purpose. We each have a gift; something that we can do better than anything or anyone else. And that gift wants us to free it by stepping out and trying something new. And it’s not about making millions, but it’s about giving your life meaning, purpose, and hope.

Maybe you may need to further your education, hone your skills, take a few lessons, or learn a new craft that you’ve always thought you’d enjoy but never took the time to pursue. Maybe you’ve already discovered your passion, but you don’t know how or where to start.

Sunday school teacher or church leader? Graphic Designer? Photographer? Writer? Gardening? Sewing: making quilts, children’s clothes, doll clothes? Woodworking: birdhouses, flower boxes, plant stands, etc.? Computer skills: building websites, blogging? Social skills: relating to others, encouraging them? Working with disabled children? Volunteering at school or a hospital. Even with little or no experience, it’s never too late to learn a new career, trade, or hobby.

So ask yourself, what excites you? I’d like to challenge you to discover your passion by stepping past your own circle and discover God’s purpose for your life.

How to Find Your Passion and Purpose

5 steps to discovering your passion and living on purpose

  1. Sincerely pray and ask God for guidance. Take time and think about what you’d enjoy doing more than anything else.
  2. Make a list. Write down as many things as you can that you think you’d enjoy.
  3. Research. Take your list, get on the computer or go to the library and research your list. Discover what’s involved with each item on your list, and see if you’d really enjoy doing it. You may find that’s it something you really aren’t interested in, which could save you time and money.
  4. Narrow your list down. Pick the top three or four things you think you’d really enjoy more than anything else (and possibly make some extra money at), and something you believe you’d be good at and that you could accomplish. Educate yourself on the pros and cons, staying focused on the things that have a chance of becoming reality.
  5. Pray some more. When you’ve pinpointed those few things, pray again for God’s direction, and seek His will and plans for your life so that in the end, whatever you choose to do, you’ll feel confident that He’ll be behind you and able to sustain you through the ups and downs.

What’s Keeping You From Finding Your Passion?

Matthew 6:33 says, “Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness, and all these things will be added unto you.”

With that in mind, I encourage you to seek people who are willing and able to help you achieve your goal(s). Find people who feel the same and make a new friend. By researching and asking questions, you’ll gain knowledge and discover new things.

These steps helped me discover my passion for writing. 🙂 What’s hindering you from achieving your goal?

What’s your passion? I hope this post has given you some things to think about it.

~blessings

About Debbie Erickson

I'm a children's author. I believe all children need encouragement. I want them to discover their passion and follow their heart's desire. God is the wind beneath my wings, and Jesus is the Rock of my salvation.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

